The State of Quintana Roo is located in the eastern part of the Yucatan Peninsula at the southeastern tip of Mexico. It has a surface of 50,212 square kilometers and is surrounded by the Caribbean Sea in both north and east, bordering Belize to the south and Guatemala to the west with the State of Campeche and with the State of Yucatan.

The name of Quintana Roo state, comes from Andrés Quintana Roo, a Mexican figure, who played an important role in the Independence movement and in the creation of the Republic.

It was awarded the status of a Free Sovereign State preserving its ancient surface and borders, by the October 8, 1974 decree after having filled population and economic requirements. The local constitution was promulgated on January 12, 1975.

Quintana Roo, is the youngest state of the Mexican Republic and is also the one where the most important tourist complex, considered one of the best in the world is located with a population of approximately 874,963 inhabitants.

Quintana Roo is an encounter with nature. Its beaches, considered among the most beautiful ones in the world, are surrounded by the beautiful blue intensive to clear turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea. Having natural landscapes, history and culture it is a wonderful place for those who like hunting, fishing and aquatic sports.

The climate in Quintana Roo, for most of its surface is a warm one with occasional showers.

  • Aktun Chen
  • Isla Mujeres
  • Akumal
  • Kantunil Kin
  • Bacalar
  • Kohunlich Archeological Zone
  • Banco Chinchorro
  • Laguna Chankanab
  • Botadero San Pastor
  • Laguna Milagros
  • Cancun
  • Majahual
  • Coba Archeological zone
  • Playa del Carmen
  • Cozumel
  • Puerto Morelos
  • Chetumal
  • Tulum Archeological Zone
  • Felipe Carrillo Puerto
  • Xcaret
  • Holbox Island
  • Xel – Ha